I told Emma J. Lannie about my blog…

before i went to bed today, i told Emma j. Lannie about this blog.

it was a bit brave of me, considering. she is one of my biggest influences even though she doesn’t know it. i love her writing style, i love the way she can put herself on the page so honestly, and i love her stories; i really love her stories. i always have.

she taught me to write when i was three years old at our huge kitchen table, by our back door. it’s one of my earliest memories; pages of A4 paper (of which there was never any shortage in our home), spread out around us, of her playing school with me, teaching me to spell my awkward first name with the patience of a saint.

she obviously knew her calling at an early age. now she runs workshops as a writer, and is having stories published and sold and getting pieces commissioned and just doing really bloody well in general. she’s also in the finishing stages of writing her first novel, which already has interested parties for agents and publishing.

i couldn’t be more proud and more honoured to come from such good writing stock. my sister is my hero.

and now, she knows…

my sister, my hero

my sister, my hero

5 comments
  1. lly1205 said:

    I’ve been trying to work up courage to tell people. Good luck blogging!

    • linds_r said:

      You should go for it, one person at a time 🙂

  2. B said:

    I’ve been reading your blog sporadically this morning, trying to take in all your writing. I know how nerve-wracking it is to tell someone about your blog. My friends found out by accident and it’s only now that I’m okay with people I know reading it after writing on it for so long. I’m sure your sister is as proud of you as you are of her. Your writing is wonderful and this post, along with your Fireworks one, really touched a nerve with me.

    • linds_r said:

      Thank you so much for the encouragement – it’s a strange feeling, having this out in the open, I guess I’m hoping now that it will push me to write more and write better!

      • B said:

        It is a very odd feeling, it made me nervous at first but you soon get used to the idea of friends and family knowing about your blog and reading it. Good luck with your writing, I look forward to reading more posts!

Leave a Reply

