Another New ‘To Do’…

Making these short ‘To Do’ lists is definitely working for me. The last one was short and sweet and I’ve ticked everything off – which I’m very happy about.

1) To create something. To make something, to start it and to finish it, before I go into hospital in three week’s time.

I didn’t get to go on the jewellery course I had booked myself on because I had my GFR test on the day I was supposed to go – but I did do some sewing. In fact I did a lot of sewing and have put designs onto six bags so far. This one, was the first thing I finished this year though:

The first thing I made this year

The first thing I made this year

2) To have a good week off on holiday in Aberdovey. To play in the sand, hang out on the seafront, to do the things I couldn’t do when we went there towards the end of the summer last year, when I was too ill to participate, before I found out what was wrong with me.

Also completed. I went to the beach, I went on the train, and had a lot of fun in the sun with my boys.

3) To get my hands on a couple of short-sleeved, long-hemmed night dresses for the hospital.

As you know, it turned out I didn’t need these after all – but I have them now anyway for when they do call me in for the operation.

So… Go me!

This leaves me with the need to make a new list, especially now I find myself with all this spare time. I’m reaching a bit farther this time – I’m going to do something I’ve been wanting to do for ages but just didn’t get round to doing.

1) Sort out my Etsy shop. I opened it years ago, with the intention of selling the jewellery I wanted to make. Only I never ended up making anything to sell. Even though I have the materials to do this for jewellery now, I’m going to use the shop to sell the bags I’ve been sewing. So I need to do an overhaul on the shop, on my bio, on my profile on there and make my banner and then properly launch my page. I might never sell anything from it, but at least I can say to myself that I’ve done it. If I set it up and only have one item for sale, I will call this a victory.

2) Make a second and a third line of things, so I’m not just sewing on bags. I already know what I’ll be making for these – I have a couple of gifts I want to make for people so this will be my push to make them.

3) Find a proper supplier for the bits and bobs I’ve been using to make things with. Ebay and Etsy in general have been fine so far but I need to do some more research.

4) Upgrade my phone. Throwing in a ‘normal’ thing there. It’s time to get a new one. I hate doing it, it’s just too much information to go through. So it’s on the list.

I think this will be enough to keep my mind off the big things, and low-energy enough to manage on the week’s when I’m off my game and on the meds. I’m looking forward to it. Well, actually, I’m very excited about it and smiling to myself.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

