A Good Start…

I’d say I’ve had a good start to the year.

I joined the clinical trial and even though it’s in the early stages they’ve had positive results for Cervical Cancer with the drug. It turns off mTor receptors. It isn’t radioactive, just makes me a bit tired and a bit sickly. I hope it works out and gets to be mainstream one day.

I’ve also had my appointment through for my operation: in ten days, it will be over, one way or another. That is if all goes well with my pre-op this week. But I feel fit and healthy, and my blood work and ECG’s the last few weeks have been fine, so I’m almost optimistic about it. Of course, I still remember that they took the operation away from me at my pre-op last year, so I’m refusing to get overly excited. But if this happens… I can’t even type the words for fear of jinxing myself. It will just be very good.

I haven’t been doing an awful lot the past few weeks. Or maybe I have. I have been to my old zumba class a few times – pretty amazing considering I’m technically on chemo and I’m absolutely lazy. I’ve not made anything, though I’ve been buying fabric and looking at patterns. I’ve subscribed to a couple of magazines. I know, that’s pretty brave/optimistic of me, isn’t it? I’m making lists and thinking about what kind of things I want to make this year, now I’ve tried a few more things out. I’ve been looking at booking more courses, though the timing depends on what surgery I end up with. We’ve booked two short breaks for later in the year. It was my son’s 5th birthday – a dinosaur themed party at The Manchester Museum. ‘It was awesome’ (his words not mine). And then the week just gone, I went to a massive crafting event at Trafford Park.

I’m hoping I can be more upbeat on here again. I’ve realised my condition is never going to go away, even if I get technically ‘cured’. Ignoring it and omitting it isn’t going to work for me. But it’s not going to be the driving factor in me writing any more either.

If I don’t write again sooner, I’ll see you on the other side of this operation.

Keep your fingers and toes crossed for me, eh?

x

4 comments
  1. Hi. I noticed that you said you feel healthy. You said that. So go with that. Keep that in the forefront of your thinking as you go through your days. You know yourself better than anyone. I wish you swift recovery and happy days ahead! Love and hugs from almost to Mexico… Cissy

Leave a comment